Cellular forums Home > Archive > GPS > November 2005 > GPS from China on eBay









You are viewing an archived Text-only version of the thread. To view this thread in it's original format and/or if you want to reply to this thread please [click here]

 

Author GPS from China on eBay
Sébastien MARSOLLE

2005-09-28, 11:48 pm

When you search for GPS on eBay, you can find plenty of GPS offers like this
one:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...item=5813480545
They all come from China and the price is very low (40 Euros, 50 $).

Do you thinck we can safely place bid on these auctions ?

SMa


nitespark

2005-09-28, 11:48 pm



Sébastien MARSOLLE wrote:

> When you search for GPS on eBay, you can find plenty of GPS offers like this
> one:
> http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...item=5813480545
> They all come from China and the price is very low (40 Euros, 50 $).
>
> Do you thinck we can safely place bid on these auctions ?
>
> SMa
>

I wouldn't send this guy anything I couldn't afford to lose.
(1) He(?) is no longer a registered user
(2) Feedback is very suspicious. Multiple users with poor language
skills with similar wording....very suspicious.
(3) All of the sales have been within the past 4 days. How could all of
those users have gotten delivery within that short a period of time?
dtong22@yahoo.com

2005-09-29, 2:48 am


>Do you thinck we can safely place bid on these auctions ?


The answer is no re the following data:

Feedback Score: 10
Positive Feedback: 91.7%
Member since Aug-17-05 in China

Say 10% of respondents gave negative feedback even assuming those
positive ones are not phoney.

Stay away.

Daniel

Papa

2005-09-29, 2:48 am

No. There are several very significant warning signs: not registered, low
feedback score, will not accept Paypal, only been on Ebay one month. I
suggest that you avoid this seller.


Tim

2005-09-29, 5:48 pm

Papa wrote:
> No. There are several very significant warning signs: not registered,
> low feedback score, will not accept Paypal, only been on Ebay one
> month. I suggest that you avoid this seller.


Nice to see that Ebay actually advises people against using Western Union to
pay for items.

I am NOT slating Western Union in any way, but it is definitely not a
sensible way of sending money to someone you don't know. Requests for
payment via Western Union are at the heart of a large number of ebay scams
that my colleagues and I have been investigating recently and I wil not bid
on any auction using such a payment method...sets off all sorts of alarm
bells!


WRC

2005-09-29, 5:48 pm

http://feedback.ebay.com/ws/eBayISA...qing1020


if it sounds to good to be true...
if it walks like a duck....
figger it out...


"Sébastien MARSOLLE" <sebastien.mars-Olle@nospam.fr> wrote in message
news:dhf4kb$74b$1@ap
hrodite.grec.isp.9tel.net...
> When you search for GPS on eBay, you can find plenty of GPS offers like
> this one:
> http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...item=5813480545
> They all come from China and the price is very low (40 Euros, 50 $).
>
> Do you thinck we can safely place bid on these auctions ?
>
> SMa
>



pcmobile99@yahoo.com

2005-09-29, 11:48 pm

GPS prices in China are usually double that of US prices.

Dennis Pogson

2005-09-30, 5:48 am

Tim wrote:
> Papa wrote:
>
> Nice to see that Ebay actually advises people against using Western
> Union to pay for items.
>
> I am NOT slating Western Union in any way, but it is definitely not a
> sensible way of sending money to someone you don't know. Requests for
> payment via Western Union are at the heart of a large number of ebay
> scams that my colleagues and I have been investigating recently and I
> wil not bid on any auction using such a payment method...sets off all
> sorts of alarm bells!


Then can you suggest an alternative?


Tim

2005-09-30, 5:48 pm

Dennis Pogson wrote:
> Tim wrote:
>
> Then can you suggest an alternative?


Paypal seems reasonably secure and at least you have the benefit of purchase
protection from your credit card issuer.


Nospam@nowhere.com

2005-09-30, 11:48 pm

Apparently on date Thu, 29 Sep 2005 00:10:17 +0200, "Sébastien MARSOLLE"
<sebastien.mars-Olle@nospam.fr> said:

>When you search for GPS on eBay, you can find plenty of GPS offers like this
>one:
>http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...item=5813480545
>They all come from China and the price is very low (40 Euros, 50 $).
>
>Do you thinck we can safely place bid on these auctions ?


No. You might get lucky, e.g. those email letters from various sons of famous
africans, you never know, some of them may really be from Abdulla al Hussain,
son of Sadam, who now wants to release 50,000,000 dollars worth of gold held in
a bank account that...

Michael Salem

2005-10-07, 11:48 pm

> No. You might get lucky, e.g. those email letters from various sons of famous
> africans, you never know, some of them may really be from Abdulla al Hussain,
> son of Sadam, who now wants to release 50,000,000 dollars worth of gold held in
> a bank account that...


The Ig Nobel prize for creative fiction has just been awarded to the
writers of these letters.
Jerry

2005-11-16, 11:48 pm

eBAY has a rash of these Western Union scams (not just GPS sales). Bottom
line, if it's too good to be true, it probably isn't true...

I've also seen 'eBAY International' - but that's a scam, doesn't exist

I agree with above, PayPal offers some reasonable security...

"Tim" <void@invalidemail.com> wrote in message
news:dn8%e.16820$iW5.1126@fe3.news.blueyonder.co.uk...
> Dennis Pogson wrote:
>
> Paypal seems reasonably secure and at least you have the benefit of
> purchase protection from your credit card issuer.
>



info@chinavasion.com

2005-11-17, 11:48 pm

I also would not buy from this kind of users in China.

Ebay may have a very good protection policy, but if this guy is sending
you broken goods, you still need to prove it.

If you want to buy from some serious companies in China, you should go
along with wholesalers like http://www.chinavasion.com.

They are offering all kind of electronics and you can use escrow or
paypal to protect yourself.

Hope this might help.

Rose

LinkBot





Other Archives: Real Estate forum archive | Web Design archive | Software support archive | PC Hardware reviews archive | Medical topics archive

Copyright 2004 - 2008 cellphonetopics.com