Cellular forums Home > Archive > GPS > September 2007 > NAVTEQ Connections 2007 - an annual conference - kind request - registration problems









You are viewing an archived Text-only version of the thread. To view this thread in it's original format and/or if you want to reply to this thread please [click here]

 

Author NAVTEQ Connections 2007 - an annual conference - kind request - registration problems
darius

2007-09-25, 7:33 am

Hi,

I getting the following conference registration form over and over
again.

NAVTEQ, a leader in location and mobile navigation, is pleased to host
NAVTEQ Connections 2007 - an annual conference devoted to the
advancement of location-enabled applications, devices, software
development and distribution. This year, participants have the unique
opportunity to customize their 2 day agenda according to their
interests.

http://emm3.cabestan.com/navteq/240...2119713&WA=2366

Frankly speaking I would like to join in
but the original poster is not Navteq but
"NAVTEQ" <navteq@cabestan.com>

Conference materials come from
http://emm3.cabestan.com/navteq/240...2119713&WA=2366

and registration is not done by NAVTEQ but by
http://www.regonline.com/Checkin.asp?EventId=141564

And how can I register on-line and furnish my details if no fee
information is known to me in advance.

And one line in the above reads:
to unsubscribe from this broadcoast email please click here
xxxxxxxxxx

Message has a Logo of Hacker Safe
but registration terms are still a surprise

"
REGONLINE REGISTRANT TERMS AND CONDITIONS

BY REGISTERING OR TRANSACTING THROUGH REGONLINE, YOU ACKNOWLEDGE THAT
YOU HAVE READ, UNDERSTAND AND AGREE TO BE BOUND BY THE TERMS AND
CONDITIONS IN THIS AGREEMENT.

By using our site you agree that you won't tell anyone our trade
secrets and will not use any of the information available to compete
against us online. No competitors or future competitors are permitted
access to our site or information, and any such access by third
parties is unauthorized. You agree that you will not copy, record,
publish, compile, reproduce, republish, use or resell for any
competing commercial purpose any information on our site and you agree
to not use any device, software or routine that may extract, copy,
modify, import, export, replicate, scrape or otherwise deliver, in any
manner, the data and information on our site to you or anyone else. If
you do so, then you agree that we are suffering irreparable injury and
that an injunction or temporary restraining order may be entered by
any court sitting in the state of Colorado prohibiting the use of such
information and requiring, without limitation, that any domain name
used to advertise the competing use be redirected away from the site.
In addition, you agree to pay all reasonable attorney's fees and costs
incurred in enforcing these provisions.
"

Please let me know your opinion as I am interested in Navteq
conference not in entering into any business transactions with
Regonline, Cebestan or other third party middle-man .
I am neither interested in any trade secrets of Regonline nor
interested to compete with Regonline online .

Is the above a hoax, trojan or a hacker's tool to get personal
details ?

How can I register , provide my personal details , agree to any terms
in advance , if conference fees are still not known to me ?

Darius

Gordon Beaton

2007-09-25, 10:33 am

On Tue, 25 Sep 2007 07:19:37 -0500, keith wrote:
> On Tue, 25 Sep 2007 02:41:22 -0700, darius wrote:
>
> SNIP
>
> Personally, I'd be very cautious of this - the conference is not detailed
> anywhere I can find on navteq's site, and the 'cabestan' website gives me
> the feeling of 'methinks he doth protest too much'. Unless you can get
> verification from other sources, I would suggest not committing too much
> information to this.
>
> Keith


The sites mentioned by Darius are linked to from
http://developer.navteq.com.

Follow the links from "Now open! NAVTEQ Connections Conference
Registration" in the blue box on the first page, or under "Events".

/gordon

--
Darren Griffin - PocketGPSWorld.Com

2007-09-25, 12:33 pm

On 2007-09-25 10:41:22 +0100, darius < dariusjack2006@yahoo
.ie> said:

> Hi,
>
> I getting the following conference registration form over and over
> again.
>
> NAVTEQ, a leader in location and mobile navigation, is pleased to host
> NAVTEQ Connections 2007 - an annual conference devoted to the
> advancement of location-enabled applications, devices, software
> development and distribution. This year, participants have the unique
> opportunity to customize their 2 day agenda according to their
> interests.
>
> http://emm3.cabestan.com/navteq/240...2119713&WA=2366
>
> Frankly speaking I would like to join in
> but the original poster is not Navteq but
> "NAVTEQ" <navteq@cabestan.com>


It's genuine. Cabestan are an e-marketing firm that Navteq have employed.

--
Darren Griffin
PocketGPSWorld - www.PocketGPSWorld.com
The Premier GPS Resource for News, Reviews and Forums

Burnie M

2007-09-25, 10:33 pm

On Tue, 25 Sep 2007 17:53:30 +0100, Darren Griffin -
PocketGPSWorld.Com < darren@pocketgpsworl
d.com> wrote:

>It's genuine. Cabestan are an e-marketing firm that Navteq have employed.



Interesting

I have seen this sort of thing a few times, it always makes me nervous
when there is a disconnect between the companies website and a
marketing firm supposedly working for them.
Lack of info on the companies site and no info when you ring them does
not help.

I have stopped responding due the potential risk.
LinkBot





Other Archives: Real Estate forum archive | Web Design archive | Software support archive | PC Hardware reviews archive | Medical topics archive

Copyright 2004 - 2008 cellphonetopics.com